misdemeanor drunk driving charges
Alaska dui laws
Under Alaska laws, if a person has prior drunk driving or refusal convictions within the previous 10 years prior to the date of arrest for the current charge, the drunk driving or refusal offense is a Felony; otherwise, it is a misdemeanor.
Under current Alaska laws, if a drunk driving offense is charged as a misdemeanor, the penalties will include the following.
- Monetary fine of up to $5,000.00,
- 1 year jail term,
- Revocation of driving privileges,
- Jail costs,
- Required alcohol counseling, and
- Mandatory minimum sentencing.
minimum mandatory sentencing
Under Alaska laws, minimum mandatory sentencing requires a judge to impose a minimum sentence of jail time upon a person convicted for drunk driving. Alaska laws also limit the harshness of sentences that may be imposed upon persons convicted of a misdemeanor drunk driving offense to no more than one year in jail, and no more than a $5,000 fine.
The applicable minimum mandatory sentence depends upon whether the person has any prior convictions for drunk driving or refusal of the breath test in Alaska or any other state.
For current penalties for misdemeanor drunk driving convictions, please refer to Penalties, Fines & Jail Time for DUI Convictions.
hire the best dwi attorney possible
Attorney Fred Slone is highly-regarded throughout the legal community, and has often been referred to as the best DWI defense attorney in Alaska. His successful DUI practice attests to his commitment to his clients, to building strong defenses, and to his knowledge of both the law and how that law can be applied to your individual case. ::: Attorney Fred Slone :::
talk to an attorney today
To speak with Alaska's premier drunk driving defense lawyer today, please call Attorney Fred Slone at (907) 272-4471.
Call us today at (907) 272-4471 to speak with attorney slone.